WWW Wednesdays + “New” Blog Design

Occasionally, I like to dabble in graphic design and attempt to do fancy things with Photoshop. As a result, Übermorgen  has a spiffy new banner and a colour scheme to match. I hope the text isn’t too difficult to read against the dark background (side note: dark backgrounds require less energy to be displayed on a monitor— perhaps something to consider for anyone wanting to make their blogs more eco-friendly), and I welcome any suggestions for improvement.

Also, in an effort to be more timely with my posts, I’ve decided to participate in WWW Wednesdays, hosted at Should be Reading. It usually takes me a long time to write blog posts, and consequently, I don’t write them very often. While I believe that quality is preferable to quantity, writing is something that needs to be practiced regularly, and I hope these shorter, more casual posts will allow me to do that.


What are you currently reading?

A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce. I’ve read James Joyce’s collection of short stories, Dubliners, but it didn’t leave a strong impression on me. I thought the stories were well written, and some were quite interesting; “Araby”, which tells about a young boy’s epiphany concerning how expectations are never filled satisfyingly in reality, stands out in particular. I remember thinking at the time that the stories were so consistently dreary that I could never feel any sort of joy while reading them. I’m still in the early stages of reading A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, and haven’t really formed an opinion of it yet. It can be difficult at times to follow, due to the  vernacular vocabulary and usual dialogue formatting, but I like the challenge, and the historical allusions.  My goal is to finish this novel in about a week.

What did you recently finish reading?

No Great Mischief by Alistair MacLeod. In my first post on this blog, I featured one of my favourite short stories, “The Boat”, which is also written by this author. He has a very distinctive style of writing that flows so well, and reminds me of water quietly tumbling over rocks in a river. The subject of this book is also very typical of his writing— it is primarily about family, how blood runs thicker than water. Through the eyes of the narrator, we see  stories of generations of his family, their tragedies, and how the legacy of their ancestors is engrained in their conscience, and memory. This was a very quick read; perfect for contemplation on a rainy afternoon.

What do you think you’ll read next?

The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James. It is a complete coincidence that the title and author of this book are somewhat similar to that of the book I’m currently reading. I’ve been meaning to read The Portrait of a Lady for a while, and picked it up at a lovely used bookstore I discovered last week. It is quite a lengthy read, but I think the story sounds fascinating and I’ve never read anything by this author; it’ll be quite a novel experience*.  I’ve also planned on what to read after The Portrait of a Lady, but I think I’ll save that for another WWW Wednesday.

*Did you notice the awful pun?

2 Comments

Filed under housekeeping, misc.

2 responses to “WWW Wednesdays + “New” Blog Design

  1. “The Portrait of a Lady” is a great book, I have it on my shelf and I’m looking forward reading it 🙂
    Happy reading with it and the book by Joyce, this last one it’s not a simple book, I know 🙂
    You can find my WWW post here:
    http://www.peekabook.it/2012/07/www-wednesdays-july-25.html

    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it/

    • Thank you for visiting!

      I might have to speed through A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man because I’m so eager to get to The Portrait of a Lady. I’d love to read your thoughts about the book once you get to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

